Anime Fall 2016 List

As another season comes and goes, I start to realize a worrying trend with what I watch. I will only either stick to some sort of Shonen (like One Punch Man or My Hero Academia) or I will stick to anything Love Live. There was a point where I didn’t watch any shows but Love Live Sunshine! Even though I was watching stuff like Orange and Sweetness and Lightning, I eventually stopped watching them, but I still watched Love Live; I found that kind of funny.

Either way, as a new season starts I hope to catch up on stuff I didn’t watch (I can finally watch Re: Zero now) and start watching new shows that are coming up this season. To be honest, there is nothing that really piqued my interest this season because most of the shows are sequel shows and I haven’t gotten around to watching any of them (I swear I will get to Hibike! Euphonium someday). Either way, without further ado, here are the shows I’m going to be watching for fall of 2016.

3-Gatsu no Lion: 79185

The first thing that stood out to me was that it was that it was animated by Shaft. Besides that, I really think that this could be a really good show, something akin to Your Lie in April. I’ll probably watch the entire thing, as I see no reason to drop this show

FLIP FLAPPERS:

80044

This one looks so stupid that it might be fun. Other than that, I think that this show is going to be hit-or-miss for me. The animation looks colorful, and if the action scenes look cool, I might keep it.

Fune wo Amu:

81624

The big thing with anime is that the more boring the concept is, the more likely that the show is somehow going to make it awesome. It looks and sounds boring, but I think if this show is done well, it would be a staying point for me

Idol Memories:

80935

As a big fan of Love Live, I feel like I might need another idol show; even though this show looks super dumb, the thing I will be looking for is the ‘heart’ that Love Live had. If this show does not show care for the characters the way Love Live does, then I’m immediately dropping it. Besides, I have other idol shows I haven’t watched yet (Idolm@ster and Wake Up Girls come to mind).

Luger Code 1951:

81651

This show sounds kinda edgy. Besides that random point, I think that if this show is done properly (see a theme?) it could do really well. At the moment, the show looks kind of generic and I think that if there is something making me come back, (like say, a character or plot point I enjoy) I will probably keep on watching the show.

Mahou Shoujo Ikusei Keikaku:

81087

This show was pitched to me as Magical Girl Battle Royale. It so happens that Battle Royale is my favorite book and Madoka Magica is my favorite anime, so combining the two sounds like a perfect combination for me. Even though I’m probably going to watch all of it anyways, there are two things that I want from this show. 1) That the first episode does well with a bait-and-switch episode to completely throw off blind viewers, and 2) that this show will be super suspenseful, that the main character is always near death, and that there will be bloodshed and dark tones throughout the show.

Occultic; Nine:

82014

I think out of all the shows that are going to be watched, this one seems to be the most hyped. It first has a cool concept that will keep viewers interested and is up for a lot of cliffhangers, and second, comes from the writer of Steins;Gate, which adds to how well this show might do.

Shakunetsu no Takkyuu Musume:

79360

There are two reasons as to why I’m watching this show. First is the fact that Saki is one of my favorite ‘sports’ anime out there (It’s about mahjong, and it’s all sorts of awesome). The second reason is that I used to play a ton of table tennis back in the Philippines, so it has become my favorite sport. All I want from this show is to be Saki but with ping pong, and if I get that, I’ll be happy. If you don’t know how cool Saki is, watch this clip.

Shuumatsu no Izetta:

82119
Something about this show gives me a Maria the Virgin Witch vibe. Even though I never really finished the show, I really liked it, (I should really finish the show, I found it really funny and sweet) so I just hope that the vibe will keep on going for this show. Besides that, the story does sound interesting, so the story or characters will keep me watching this show.

Touken Ranbu: Hanamaru

81989

The first thing that I noticed about this show was Hanamaru. maxresdefault

Besides that terrible joke, the story sounds super interesting, and the concept alone sounds interesting, so I will give that a try and stay zura.

TRICKSTER: Edogawa Rampo :Shounen Tanteidan” Yori

80187

Other than the fact that the name is longer than most light novels I read (Utsuro no Hako to Zero no Maria is shorter than this title, and that book title is longer than half of the book titles in America) and the fact that the animation looks stupid, the reason I will give this show a shot is because of the mystery aspect. If it does not interest me within the first 1-2 episodes, then I’m out.

Honorable Mentions
Keijo:

81906

This gets a mention because it sounds so dumb that it might actually be funny or decent. It just looks super dumb which is why I’m not going to watch this show.

Long Riders!:

81457

This gets one because the moe style always looks cute. I might stop by and watch this show a bit, but I will not be giving this one my full attention.

Magic-Kyun! Renaissance:

80828

Sunrise Studio is making this, and they also made Love Live. Besides that, the show sounded interesting until I started to read a little deeper and just got really bored by the rest of the description. Yeah, there is nothing else to say about this show.

Hopefully I will be proven wrong about the shows this season and something good would come from this season.

-President Nico Nico Nii

One thought on “Anime Fall 2016 List

Comments are closed.